Charlie Wilson
Charlie Wilson - Author of This is Redbridge.

Redbridge London Borough Council

Redbridge London Borough Council


Redbridge is one of the boroughs named, in a variant form, after the bridge over the River Roding that stood at the eastern end of the old Roman road through Ilford and Woodford. This was probably in use in the late Bronze Age or early Iron Age. A wooden bridge was built by the Knights Templar about 1000 years ago, used to gain access to the Parklands of Wanstead. Clatford Bridge is first mentioned in 1284.

It is recorded that King Henry VIII had a hunting lodge at Wanstead, but no physical traces now exist on Dartford Road (formerly known as Shooters Hill) where remains are said to have existed until 1955, This Is Redbridge ( The Redbridge was most likely constructed in 1835-6 along. The area that makes up the present-day London Borough of Redbridge formed part of the Becontree Hundred of Essex and was administered from Chelmsford. The Local Government Act 1888 established a local authority for the Hundred.

The area of responsibility of this local authority was defined as being the hundred and the parish of Hornchurch, with the exception of the municipal boroughs of Ilford,Romford, Wanstead and Woodford and Wanstead (the latter two later forming part of Greater London). The borough was created by combining the former area of the Municipal Borough of Ilford with most of Wanstead and Woodford Urban District, which had only been created in 1933. From 1894 to 1965 the Ilford borough formed part of the Ilford Rural District, in the Romford Rural District from 1894 until 1934 and the Barking Poor Law Union from 1834 until 1899.

Powers And Functions

Power is delegated to the council to make bylaws, and is exercised by various statutory bodies, each with an individual role. This includes a planning committee which is responsible for the management of development in the borough and advising on planning applications, a licensing committee which hears appeals against the decisions of the council's environmental health officers regarding the granting of licences to sell alcohol or entertain and a standards committee which oversees complaints about members'conduct.

Past Mayors And Deputy Mayors

The Redbridge London Borough Council is the local authority for the London Borough of Redbridge in Greater London, England. It is a London borough council, one of 32 in the United Kingdom capital of London. Redbridge is divided into 20 wards, each electing three councillors. All current, former and living incumbents. Mayor Years Party Deputy __________ __________ __________ __________ London Borough of Bexley. > Mayors. Mayors are from 1965, when Bexley became a London Borough.

Living deputy mayors are shown in bold font. The Deputy Mayor is also elected by the Council annually and, if the Mayor is absent from any function, then the Deputy Mayor will preside. The Centre works with local schools to provide as many workshops and drama lessons as possible for young people at no cost. We also work with the community to provide theatre and drama activities for anyone that wishes to take part. Coventry Drama Centre (Covid) provides inclusive arts activities to enable and develop confidence, communication skills and self-esteem for all members of the Redbridge community.